Its beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

We’ve finally got all our Christmas decorations up, so I thought I’d do a quick post with pictures of our house all Christmasfied πŸ™‚

One random fact about me: I don’t really like decorating for seasons (for example, having fall/spring/summer decor, or Halloween/thanksgiving/Easter/etc. decor). Once I’ve decided that I like the way my mantle/table/whatever is decorated, I don’t want to change it around. Probably because I am afraid I will forget how to put it all back in the same way I liked it before. Also, I am so anti-clutter, and the thought of having to store decor for every season just doesn’t appeal to me.

I don’t really know why I felt the need to write the above paragraph, except that it was on my mind as I decorated for Christmas this year. I am, of course, like most people, and do enjoy decorating for Christmas. It has been fun this year because it is the first time I’ve decorated with a feeling of permanence, like I am determining where certain decorations (or even the tree!) will go every year, since this is our first Christmas in the house.

Ever since we got married I have been slowly adding to my Christmas decor collection. My “theme” is basically silver and white. And this year I have added more greenery (wreaths and garland).

This will be our last year with those stockings. Since we will have a new addition next year, its the perfect excuse to buy new ones! πŸ™‚ I’m thinking something like this…

…because right now I am kind of loving the idea of burlap stockings. I think they would coordinate nicely with the rest of the living room…but who knows what I will decide on next year!

But back to this year…

I bought these cute little oil robbed bronze figurines from Target a few years back, and luckily I thought ahead and bought four, so we would have a matching set when future additions came along πŸ™‚

The only new Christmas decor I bought this year (besides wreaths and garland) was a big box of silver pinecone ornaments (Martha Stewart brand from Home Depot). It came with a ton of them, so I found other spots to incorporate them besides just the tree.

This bowl of pearlized decorative balls lives on the bottom shelf of our entryway table. I think the pinecones add the perfect amount of sparkle πŸ™‚

IΒ also filled the vase (which usually holds hydrangeas) on the garden stool with ornaments and pinecones.Β 

But I’ve yet to show you my very favorite decorations of this year. The dining room:

I don’t know why, but I just adore that garland wrapped around the chandilier. It reminds me of a Ballard catalog, which you know I love. And the hanging ornaments add the perfect little bit of sparkle. Funny how two little additions just make me walk by and smile everytime.

Now for the outside, which is all Nick’s baby. I feel very lucky that he gets really into putting lights up. He has all these big plans of what we will add every year until we have the most impressive Christmas lights on the block πŸ™‚

(Sorry for the daylight picture, I will try to get a good night picture at some point.)

We have a wreath for the window above the garage as well, but we can’t for the life of us figure out how to get it up there, since we don’t have a 12-foot ladder, and apparently the window is not at the right angle to reach from the roof either. So just pretend it is there until we figure out a solution! πŸ™‚

And finally these two “outdoors looking in” pictures. One of my favorite room, and one of my favorite puppy:

Seriously, that face just melts my heart πŸ™‚ Hope everyone has a wonderful Christmas season!

Leave a Reply

