My greenish thumb?

Let me preface this post by saying that I am in no way, shape or fashion a gardner. I am more certain of this fact now than ever before. I like planning and picking out plants, but I don’t like planting them, I don’t like maintaining them, I definitely don’t like weeding them, and I have no patience waiting for them to grow.

My “garden” definitely reflects the fact that I am not a gardener. There is a fine line between a wonderfully full “cottage garden” look, and a flowerbed that just looks overgrown and under-maintained. My garden is definitely walking that very fine line, and all spring I haven’t been able to decide which side of that line it is on.

But after writing this post about picking out plants last year, I thought I should do a little update to show you how they have grown over the past year.

When we moved in, this is what we started with. Pretty puny:

Here is the garden last summer:

And here it is now:

So things have definitely grown this year! It helps that we have actually had some rain this spring.

My top performers and the plant I would recommend wholeheartedly is the purple butterfly bush up front. I love this bush because it is extremely low maintenance and it blooms continuously from late spring until frost. Beautiful color, and it really does attract butterflies!

My Star of Jasmine climbing vines really have done well too. Here they were all tiny and new last year:

And now look at them:

When we bought this Texas Lilac shrub last year…

…we really had no clue how huge it would become:

It’s practically tree-like! And to be honest, I’ve gone back and forth on whether or not I like it. It looks really pretty now that it is blooming, but earlier this spring it just kind of looked like a big weed. So the jury’s still out on that one. It might just be a matter of making sure we keep it trimmed properly.

My gardenia plan (in front of the garage) is still so small and puny. But I was so excited when it actually bloomed this year! We didn’t have a single bloom last season.

But without a doubt, the all star of my garden this year is my hydrangea plant! You may recall that I ordered it online last year, and it arrived looking all shriveled and pathetic. It made a little progress last season…

And look at it now!!!!!

Yes, that is worthy of multiple exclamation marks, because that is about the reaction I had when I realized it was actually going to bloom this season!! I may have jumped and down and squeeled a bit.

Hydrangeas are my favorite flowers and it completely MAKES the garden for me. I hope it keeps growing and gets huge.

I want to plant hydrangea bushes everywhere. Oh so pretty 🙂

So that’s where we are with the garden this season. I would much appreciate any advice you have for me, since gardening doesn’t really come naturally for me. I prefer the full, cottage garden look over an uber-manicured garden with perfectly round clumps of bushes. But I am not sure how to best keep it looking neat and intentional so it doesn’t look like a bunch of overgrown weeds. Any tips?

One thought on “My greenish thumb?

  1. Jennifer! Love the progression of your garden! I would not get rid of your Texas lilac plant. It’s so pretty in bloom! You may just need to prune it, or you could even up-root and move it to a different spot…maybe in the backyard…not sure if you have a spot for it or not. But I actually love how it pulls the purple butterfly plant together with all of the other plants. Way to go on the hydrangeas! We were actually going to plant some here at house in Belton, but when we found out we were moving, we decided not to. I’m excited to report that they are everywhere in Tyler. In fact, several houses we are looking at have huge hydrangea bushes! I’ll have to send you a pic if we end up buying one! 🙂
    I love how you picked out plants with low-maintenace and that would bloom each year. I would just keep the plants you have pruned and weed free, and I think you are going to end up with exactly what you are hoping for! We are no experts, but hope this helps based on the little experience we’ve had ourselves!

Leave a Reply

