The perfect trifecta

Oh lighting, you really are my favorite way to take a room from “builder-grade” to looking upscale and styled. Seriously everyone, that really is the secret. Invest in good-looking light fixtures.

I am happy to report that every light that I hated in the house has now been replaced. There are still a couple of less noticeable lights that I’d like to replace one day (for instance, in the laundry room), but all of the crucial ones have been replaced now thanks to my awesome Dad and husband who installed recessed lights in my kitchen last weekend! I’m such a lucky girl!

So first of all, let’s review what we’ve already covered as far as kitchen lighting goes. We replaced the fixture over our kitchen table pretty quick after we moved in. And I still love it! 

So after that, I was left with the two builder-grade pendants over the counter…

…and the flush-mount light in the center of the kitchen that provided most of the light for the room:

Now let’s back up a little to when we were making our selections for the house. The standard light they put in the kitchen is a florescent light. This was definitely a no-go for me. So I planned to upgrade the florescent light to recessed lights. When I got to the selections meeting though, the guy talked us out of doing recessed lighting. He was trying to save us money, which was nice, I guess. But I wish I would’ve just gone ahead and gotten what I wanted from the start, since it would’ve saved us lots of work later. So he convinced us to just get a regular flush-mount light for the kitchen. I actually picked this one out (it was the lesser evil out of the options I was offered). But I looked at it as a placeholder of sorts, and always had the intention of replacing it with recessed lighting.

Truth be told, the guy actually did save us some money. If I remember correctly, the builder was going to charge us $500 for upgrading the light to recessed lighting, and we were able to do it ourselves for under $100. It only took us over a year to finally get around to doing it.

We’ve had the pendant lights up since July 2011, but I never did a post on it for two reasons: number one, we installed them right in the height of my wonderful first trimester when I felt oh-so very, very sick. To this day, looking at these pendants still makes me think of being nauseous (I know, I’m so weird). The second reason is that the flush-mount light in the center of the kitchen totally killed the look of these pendants. They looked so mismatched. The only picture I really have to demonstrate this is this one from when we were setting up for our gender reveal party last September:

I’m sure no one noticed but me, but I was always embarrassed of how that center light looked with the pendants. So I never did a blog post about them. Sorry.

But now, look! The recessed lights blend in so nicely and really let those pendants shine.

I am such a huge fan of recessed lighting. I just think it looks upscale. And it goes with any decor. They are one of those things that once you install them, you’ll never have to change.

I’m not sure that installing recessed lighting is something that any DIY-er any one could do. The only reason we were able to do it is because my dad is a genius. Honestly, I am not exaggerating or just trying to flatter him. My dad is an engineer and the things he knows how to do with cars, electrical, etc is seriously awe-inspiring. He saved us so much money by wiring the recessed lighting for us. He talked Nick through all the “manual labor” such as cutting the hole and installing the light, then my Dad did the wiring. The two of them really had a good little system going and it only took them about half a day to get all three lights installed. I was seriously so impressed!

I just love how all the lighting looks together. What a change from what the house came with!

So from the bottom of my heart, thank you to Nick and my Dad for making my recessed lighting dreams come true. Now you ready to install some in the living room?? 😉

One thought on “The perfect trifecta

Leave a Reply

