A girl’s best friend…

I’m back with the third installment of Organization Week, which focuses on jewelry organization.

So here it is. Every last set of earrings that I own is in this picture:

Most specifically, inside this box:

I got this pretty decorative wooden box as a wedding gift. I love it and wanted to make it useful. So I searched high and low for a jewelry organizer that would fit inside. Guess what? It doesn’t exist. At least, not that I’ve found. So I had to improvise.

I am sure I got this idea from some blog (this was actually in the days before Pinterest! I know, can you believe that day even existed??). I bought three of those flexible plastic ice cube trays and stacked them. Now every earring has its own spot. No more searching for that matching earring in a big tangled mess!

I used to store my necklaces in the compartments too, but I found that I wasn’t wearing them very often because they were in the bottom tray and I just wasn’t seeing them. Soooo…remember my post on the tie rack Nick builtΒ in our closet?

I decided that I would like something similar on my side of the closet to hold all of my necklaces and belts. So Nick made it happen πŸ™‚

It is a fairly simple concept: a block of wood and hooks to hold the necklaces. But it is oh-so-nice to have them out of my jewelry box, where they would get tangled, and out on display. Having them out where I can see them when I am getting ready in the morning persuades me to wear them more often (I am admittedly not the best when it comes to remembering to accessorize, as you can probably tell from the fact that this is, indeed, ALL of the necklaces and belts that I own.)

But I am trying to wear more jewelry, as evidenced by my recent purchase of some bangle bracelets. And when I realized they didn’t fit in my jewelry box well, I asked Nick to add a peg that I could slide the bracelets onto.

We majorly improvised, using cheap foam brushes like this that we already had on hand. We cut off the foam part, and drilled the wooden peg into a block of wood.

After a quick paint job, I had a designated spot for my bracelets, all in under an hour!

And with that, we have made it through Day 3 of Organization Week! On the plate for tomorrow…your favorite and mine, BASKETS!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ See you then!

Leave a Reply

