Dream big

Hello blogworld. I am sorry that I have abandoned you for so long. Having a baby plus working full-time makes finding spare time for blogging difficult. In order to make it up to you, I am about to overload you with not one, but two room makeovers, plus a special birthday party for a certain one-year-old girl ๐Ÿ™‚

First up: guess what, we redid the living room!

And actually, it was less of a “redo,” and more about updating some pieces to get us closer to the living room we have always dreamed of. Most of the decor did not change, the wall/ceiling color didn’t change, the overall “vibe” of the room didn’t change. The two big changes (an entertainment center and a sectional) are both things that we have dreamed about since we were engaged. So although we liked the other stuff, it had always been more of a placeholder until we were ready to bite the bullet and actually spend the money.

So, with no further ado, here’s the before:IMG_5151

And here’s the after:_MG_9186

One more angle… before:ย IMG_5170

After:_MG_9251

We are very happy with the results. The sectional couch was a decision that basically just fits better with our lifestyle. We are both loungers, so when we had the two couches before, we always would fight over the long couch because you can’t spread out on the shorter couch. So having a sectional where both sides are the same length allows us to both comfortably lay on the couch together. Yay laziness! ๐Ÿ™‚

The couch is an Ektorp sectional from IKEA. If money was no object, I would’ve chosen a Pottery Barn sectional. The IKEA one is about $2,000 cheaper and looks extremely similar. We had an Ektorp loveseat in our apartment, but I was still pretty nervous about how comfortable this sectional would be. I am sure that the PB version is probably 100x comfier, but honestly, I have loved this couch so far! I find it pretty comfortable.

_MG_9227

One of those “you live, you learn” things that I learned from the couches that we had before is that me and microsuede just don’t get along. They just always seemed a little dingy to me, and no matter how much scrubbing I did, I felt like they never really looked clean. The thing that I really liked about our old Ektorp loveseat (which was white, by the way… GASP, I know, white!), was that I could take the cover off and wash it. And then, eventually, I could buy a replacement cover and it was like I had a whole new couch (for very little extra $$). This was really the biggest selling point of this sectional.

I originally planned on buying the white version of this couch. I just LOVE a white couch. I still love the one we had in our apartment. Its just my style. Plus, the white cover is cheaper ๐Ÿ˜‰ But in the end, I decided to spring for this upgraded off-white linen fabric. It is light enough that it still has the same vibe as a white couch (the white throw pillows help too), but I thought the off-white color would hide a bit more of the everyday dirt that inevitably happens when you actually use your couch. Plus, I liked the texture of the fabric, it felt a bit more upscale.

This particular cover is dry-clean only, but I actually see this as a plus, because I think that the drycleaners will be able to get it cleaner (without wrinkles!) ย than I ever could. So far (after living with this couch for over four months), we have had no trouble with dirt. I still feel like it looks brand new, with very little effort on our part. We aren’t “careful” with this couch, we live on it, eat snacks on it, have a dog who sits on it, and it has held up extremely well. I sprayed two cans of ScotchGuard on it, so who knows if that helped or not.

_MG_9190

Okay, now for our favorite part: the media center. Oh my gosh, we both love this. It truly is a dream come true. I still remember walking around IKEA while we were still dating talking about how “one day” we would buy this media center. In fact, when we go to IKEA now we both get a little sad because we don’t get to go by and dream about it. But then we get happy because, oh yeah! The dream came true ๐Ÿ™‚

_MG_9198

Here is the craziest part. Remember this post where I talked about how I changed the floorplan before we started building? Here is a picture of a house with our unmodified floorplan:

2

What I did was have them move the fireplace to where the TV is in this picture. Our reasoning was that, as any true-blooded American would, we wanted the TV centered with the couch instead of the fireplace.

Fast forward to this past winter, when Nick measured out the little “nook” we had in between the back wall and the fireplace. It was within INCHES of the exact dimensions of the media center we had always dreamed of. Close enough that it would look like a built-in. We couldn’t have planned it better if we had tried!

_MG_9212

Okay, now let’s talk for a minute about how we made all this happen, budget-wise. Like I said, Nick and I have been dreaming of getting this media center, so when we got married we purchased one of the bookshelves for our apartment. So we only had to buy the second bookshelf, both sets of doors, the media console and the little shelf that attaches the two bookshelves over the TV.

_MG_9216

We both asked everyone in our families for IKEA gift cards for Christmas, so we were able to pull our gifts together and really saved a lot that way. We also sold our old couches/chair (to a girl we went to college with who actually reads this blog! Hi Lauren! :)), which also put a little extra cash in our pockets. So the price we ended up actually having to pay for the couch and media center ended up being pretty reasonable! Yay ๐Ÿ™‚

I just love how the sectional and built-ins now create the pefect little cozy nook for relaxing. It really feels complete.

_MG_9229

I just loved styling the shelves! This has been a many-years-long lesson for me, learning how to scale down the books and add more decorative items and frames. The thing I really like about these shelves is that even when the rest of the house is messy, the shelves still always look neat and organized which can trick you into feeling like the rest of the house is too.

_MG_9268

_MG_9355

_MG_9308ย ย _MG_9311_MG_9323_MG_9316

_MG_9333_MG_9329ย _MG_9331_MG_9276_MG_9335_MG_9346ย _MG_9352

I also love having the cabinet doors to store some of our less pretty objects. One side holds all of our books and magazines. The other side holds some of Kate’s toys so that she can pull them out and play in the living room.

So now you see it…_MG_9280

And now you don’t! Magic ๐Ÿ™‚ย _MG_9283

_MG_9278

By the way, for anyone wondering how we hung the TV without the cords showing, Nick bought this really cool product that allows you to cut a hole in the drywall, run the TV cords behind the wall, and then pull it out through a second hole you cut beside the outlet. It was relatively simple…I highly recommend this approach!

_MG_9199

Okay, so now on to a few other elements of the room. The one thing I really miss about our old furniture was the big oversized chair. I actually picked that whole microsuede set because I really liked that chair. I feel like it was a great proportion to the room and I liked how it kind of defined the “living area” from the entryway section. And truth be told, I struggled with how empty the room felt once the chair wasn’t there anymore.

I had a hard time deciding on what we would put there instead. Nick really wanted to bring in our old Ektorp loveseat (which we still have and is for sale if anyone is interested!). I felt like that would just be too much couch in one room. Plus I felt like it would be good to bring in some variety, so that all the furniture wasn’t matchy-matchy. I really pictured an oversized chippendale chair or wicker chair, but despite my searching I could not find anything like that for a reasonable price.

I finally stumbled across these teal slipper chairs, which are nearly the perfect match to the teal accents we already had in the room!

_MG_9239

To be honest, I still don’t feel like they are 100% the correct scale…that part of the room still feels a little empty to me. But I love the way they bring in more of the teal. You know me and teal ๐Ÿ˜‰

_MG_9368

Some of the other choices we made were for the sake of baby proofing. We already had the little garden stool (in between the chairs), but I removed the pretty vase of fake flowers (haha) because I could just imagine Kate pulling that down and shattering it. I actually don’t mind the stool clear, it makes a good place to sit drinks and a is also great drum for Kate ๐Ÿ˜‰

_MG_9219

We also sold our old coffee table and replaced them with two soft wicker ottomans. They provide some extra storage and soft corners for Kate as she learns to walk.

_MG_9193

When we brought the sectional in, I wasn’t really crazy about the back of the couch being exposed. I knew pretty much right away that we needed a sofa table for it. Which didn’t make me happy, because I didn’t want to have to buy another piece of furniture. So, I took the nesting tables that we used to have (nested) next to our old couch and I lined them up side by side. I was actually just trying to determine how a sofa table would look there. But the more I looked at it, the more I liked the stairstep look of these tables.

_MG_9292

This is probably the area of the room I feel least secure about, just because it was not an idea I’ve seen before, I just kind of came up with it in an effort to use what we had. But I kind of love it. It adds some dark tones, which I think the room needs to balance out my love for all things whitewashed. And its really fun getting to decorate each individual plane, instead of one long table.ย _MG_9298_MG_9302

_MG_9214

The last little addition was a small little cabinet for the wall next to the dining room. That spot used to be the home to Kate’s swing, which she has now outgrown. I’ve always wanted to do something pretty in that area, and I’ve also always loved the decorative look of mirrored cabinet doors. I stumbled across this little cabinet at Ross one day. It was pretty affordable, but was a weird silver metallic color. So we brought it home, and I spray painted it white.

_MG_9263_MG_9256ย ย ย _MG_9262_MG_9291

I love what it adds to the room. It is helps the room feel a bit more layered and collected over time. Plus, it adds some extra storage. Bet you can’t guess what’s inside…

_MG_9287

_MG_9215

_MG_9246ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย _MG_9360

So there you have it. Our living room updates. And we actually have some big plans coming down the line for it this summer including adding crown moulding, extra woodwork on the wall above the fireplace, replacing the fireplace surround tile with something a bit less builder-grade and installing a transom window and french doors for the dining room. Some brown wicker roman shades would also work nicely with the other dark natural textures in the room. Whew, that didn’t really seem like much until I actually typed it all out. Poor Nick… ๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “Dream big

  1. FANTASTIC JENNIFER I AM SO PROUD OF YOU AND NICHOLAS. I JUST HOPE THAT I CAN ENJOY IT WHILE HERE AND SOME HOW KEEP UP WITH YOU ALL FROM HEAVEN THE FUTURE LOOKS SO BRIGHT I STILL DREAM BUT YOU DREAM AND PUY IT TO USE LOVE POPPA J =====================================================

    When yet life was young

    And pink bubble gum

    And Teddys and Clowns

    Brought me joy;

    I was tutored by sages

    On how to make wages

    On how to succeed

    Just where to weed

    Just how to impress

    To step over the mess,

    To gain much acclaim;

    To set forth My name!

    But, let me explain–

    One day I just chose

    To walk through a field;

    (I think I just chose,

    Or did I yet yield?)

    Was it planned that I respond

    To a Voice quite close by?

    Beckoning Hand,

    Winds’ Breath,

    a Deep sigh?

    What matter–I found something there in that place,

    That nothing of worldliness can ere deface,

    Now naught else can ever–will ever suffice,

    My Jesus had shown me

    His Pearl of Great Price!”

    “Untitled”, by Dorothy M. Owen, Poems for the Healing Journey, Lana Bateman, Barbour and Company, Inc, Uhrichsville, OH, 1992.

    Linda shares more at: http://absolutegrace.wordpress.com/

    a.. b.. c.. 0 d..

  2. So so pretty! I am obsessed with all things white/teal. We put up brown wicker roman blinds in our living room and I love them. Yay for blogging again. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • This blog post actually inspired me to dig out the brown wicker roman blinds we had up in our apartment (nothing like seeing the room in a picture to call attention to needing a little more contrast/texture!). They actually fit the windows so we now have two up but need to find a third set for the last window. I sure hope they still make them!

Leave a Reply

